by clicking the arrows at the side of the page, or by using the toolbar.
by clicking anywhere on the page.
by dragging the page around when zoomed in.
by clicking anywhere on the page when zoomed in.
web sites or send emails by clicking on hyperlinks.
Email this page to a friend
Search this issue
Index - jump to page or section
Archive - view past issues
Golf Australia Express : GA Express 280
G olf is a game of mystery; it is one of the most difficult sports to predict. But one thing’s for certain ... One of the first questions Lexi Thompson will be asked this week at the ANA Inspiration will be: ‘Does it still hurt when you think about what happened here last year?’ Thompson was cruising with a three-shot lead after 12 holes on Sunday when rules officials approached her on the 13th tee. A television viewer had emailed the LPGA saying that the 22-year-old had marked her ball and then replaced it incorrectly before putting out on the 17th hole during her third round. After reviewing the footage, Thompson was incredibly awarded a four-stroke penalty: two shots for the incident and a further two shots for signing an incorrect scorecard. “On Sunday afternoon, the LPGA received an email from a television viewer, saying that Lexi Thompson did not properly replace her ball before putting out on the 17th hole during Saturday’s third round of the ANA Inspiration,” a statement from the LPGA said. “After a full review, it was determined that Thompson breached Rule 20-7c (Playing From Wrong Place), and received a two-stroke penalty under Rule 16-1b. She incurred an additional COVER STORY A teary Lexi Thompson walks toward the 18th green after learning of her penalty for her marking indiscretion (inset).
GA Express 279
GA Express 281