by clicking the arrows at the side of the page, or by using the toolbar.
by clicking anywhere on the page.
by dragging the page around when zoomed in.
by clicking anywhere on the page when zoomed in.
web sites or send emails by clicking on hyperlinks.
Email this page to a friend
Search this issue
Index - jump to page or section
Archive - view past issues
Golf Australia Express : GA Express 280
3. LEXI THOMPSON 2017 ANA INSPIRATION Thompson was given a four-stroke penalty, two for the act and two for signing an incorrect scorecard, during the final round after a TV viewer called in to alert officials that she hadn’t replaced her ball correctly on a short putt a day earlier. Visibly shaken by the news as she attempted to win a major championship, Thompson lost a playoff with So Yeon Ryu, with the incident bringing about changes to the rules regarding viewer call-ins. 4. ARNOLD PALMER 1958 MASTERS At the 12th hole in the final round, Palmer’s ball plugged beyond the green. A rules official denied him relief, resulting in a double bogey five. Palmer then announced he would drop and play a second ball, making a par three. Playing partner Ken Venturi argued that Palmer should have announced his intention before playing the first ball, while officials eventually sided with Palmer, who was judged to have made three and earnt a one-stroke victory. 5. IAN WOOSNAM 2001 OPEN CHAMPIONSHIP ‘Woosie’ was tied for the lead in the final round having nearly aced the par-3 1st before everything came unravelled on the 2nd tee. Caddie Miles Byrne told the Welshman, “You’re going to go ballistic,” after he realised he had forgotten to take a second driver out of the bag, meaning he had 15 rather than the maximum 14 clubs. Woosnam tossed the extra club away in disgust and was assessed a two-shot penalty, all but ending his chances.
GA Express 279
GA Express 281