by clicking the arrows at the side of the page, or by using the toolbar.
by clicking anywhere on the page.
by dragging the page around when zoomed in.
by clicking anywhere on the page when zoomed in.
web sites or send emails by clicking on hyperlinks.
Email this page to a friend
Search this issue
Index - jump to page or section
Archive - view past issues
Golf Australia Express : GA Express 318
The R&A and USGA will be hoping for a quiet week after more drama relating to the new rules unfolded last week. On the PGA Tour, Denny McCarthy was assessed a two-shot penalty for the same infraction of being lined up by his caddie allegedly committed by Haotong Li the week prior, with McCarthy’s taking place during a practice swing. After a severe backlash on Twitter, the PGA Tour rescinded McCarthy’s penalty, with a statement released by the USGA relating to the implementation of the rule. “The USGA and The R&A recognize that further clarity on how to appropriately apply this Rule is needed. We are committed to assessing its impact and will provide the necessary clarifications in the coming days.” European rules officials weren’t so kind to Sergio Garcia. The fiery Spaniard was deemed to have committed “serious misconduct” by damaging multiple greens during the third round of the Saudi International, leading to his disqualification under Rule 1.2a. No footage of the incident exists but Garcia addressed the issue in a statement on the European Tour website. “I respect the decision of my disqualification. In frustration, I damaged a couple of greens, for which I apologise for, and I have informed my fellow players it will never happen again,” Garcia’s statement read. THE BROKEN RULES?
GA Express 317
GA Express 319