by clicking the arrows at the side of the page, or by using the toolbar.
by clicking anywhere on the page.
by dragging the page around when zoomed in.
by clicking anywhere on the page when zoomed in.
web sites or send emails by clicking on hyperlinks.
Email this page to a friend
Search this issue
Index - jump to page or section
Archive - view past issues
Golf Australia Express : October 2013 - United Colours of Golf
LETTERS CAN'T IMAGINE WHAT TIGER would say to his kids if he played "pick-up-sticks" with them. That sort of movement would draw howls from them for sure. He certainly shouldn't be claiming ignorance of the rules given the time he's been playing. And if he is called for a penalty when the rules are enforced, he should just bite his tongue and get on with it, that's the professional way to handle the situation. Or he could improve his game a bit and keep the ball on the fairway where he wouldn't have to move any debris. —NEILL KAMMINGA, VIA EMAIL THE LETTER OF THE MONTH RECEIVES A DOZEN CALLAWAY HEX BLACK TOUR BALLS I CAN'T agree that Tiger doesn't know the rules; he does. He seems to think that they apply to others not him. Perhaps winning has become too important for him to apply the self-regulating ethics the game is broadly admired for. The sad thing is that, as a golfer, he is good enough to win without cheating but as a person he can't seem to avoid it. —DA LLAS MILLS, VIA EMAIL IT IS patently obvious that Tiger is ready for spectacles. Who's he trying to kid saying the ball oscillated? Are you right there? C'mon Tiger, nobody is bigger than the game (least of all you) and any professional golfer worth his salt would've called a penalty on himself. The ball moved. —PE TER ROOKAS, VIA EMAIL You're joking aren't you Ed? If that ball moved off its original spot I'm a monkey’s uncle. Give the guy a break. That was no infringement. No wonder people don't take up the game. —MARTIN KENNEDY, VIA EMAIL YOUR THOUGHTS LETTER OF THE MONTH I DON'T believe Tiger should have been penalised, the movement did not improve his lie. The weight of his fingers on the debris made the slight movement. As stated before there was no improvement in the lie and he did not touch the ball nor was it intentional. —SAM PLATSIS, VIA EMAIL I HAVE watched the footage five times & particularly watched for markings on his ball for movement. I cannot see any movement. Also, he must have realised that if he moved the stick, then the ball would move, so he left the stick in place. Do I need to see an optometrist? In any case the impediment remained, so the penalty was unfair. —ROSS R. MELROSE, VIA EMAIL TELL US YOUR THOUGHTS TELL US YOUR THOUGHTS Haven't seen the video of Tiger's infringement at the BMW Championship? Check it out above. Haven't seen the video of Tiger's infringement at the BMW Championship? Check it out above. ON TIGER'S PENALTY...